top of page

A Windy Start to LOSHRS

The first Lake Ontario Short Handed race of the year was a classic 14-mile course race. The first leg was from PCYC to the Eastern Gap of Toronto Harbour and was straight into the wind with a good sea and winds gusting up to 17 knots. The return leg to the Etobicoke mark was a very quick downwind finishing leg.

Racers were spread out all over the lake from those trying to go out into the lake for high steady breeze and those hugging the shoreline for the eastward lift and every combination in between. The return leg did not see as many spinnakers and would be normal on this race since most boats were well above hull speed without. No rain, was a bonus to this excellent start to the season.

There were 56 boats starting the race and 49 finishing.

Congratulations to Mr. Ed, the IMX-38 skippered by Ian McAllister, racing DH- NFS from PCYC for finishing first across the line in 2 hours, 38 minutes, 34 seconds. Mr Ed was winner of the Seagull Trophy for BCT Double Handed NFS.

Other Trophy winners included:

Endeavor II Trophy – BCT Single Handed NFS – Moody One, Moody 31 MKII – Andy Davies, from PCYC ( First time winner !)

Youngstown Trophy – BCT Single Handed FS – Pearl; C&C 35 – Brent Hughes from FBYC

Martini Shaker Trophy – BCT Double Handed FS- Starchaser; Beneteau First 45, skippered by Ken Martin with Ron Statler from PCYC

Congratulations to all division winners and participants for heading out in excellent wind conditions to start the LOSHRS Series. Next race is the Youngstown Race weekend on June 16th

Results can be found on the LOSHRS page of the LOOR.CA website or on Yachtscoring.

bottom of page